Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
1

Be Kind

It's really that simple. Do what you can, when you can, to help others.
1

10 minutes ago (my time), I was coming home, a big box of groceries in my arms. Slippery streets, beautiful light snow coming down.

I was almost home but in my way was an old man pulling a large cart full of cardboard. There are a lot of these forgotten elderly men (sometimes women), making a few pennies to survive by collecting all the cardboard people throw out here in S. Korea.

He was having a hard time with the ice on the street, a hard time pushing through the ice and slush of the intersection. I leaned into his cart from behind and he magically started moving forward. Then I let go, he had the momentum to continue on his way.

As I let go, he glanced over and our eyes met. It was beautiful, this brief entwining with this man out there, in the snow and slush and harshness of life. We recognized each other briefly, for what we are - just two living things, making our way through this crazy, fragile world.

Much like this photo. But with snow and ice on the road. Sorry, didn’t have my phone …

So I got home and wrote this poem. Reminded too of one Christmas Day in Kyiv, several decades ago, the same snow coming down - giving money to an elderly lady, sitting on cardboard on the sidewalk on busy Krischatchek. She smiled, caught my eye and said, “It doesn’t cost a nickle (1 kopiyok) to be kind.” I will always remember that.

Be Kind

Be kind.
Why push their noses in it?
Why curl your lip and
keep all the money to yourself?

Be kind.

Don't laugh at them
those down on their luck
down where you once were
in the shadows, the basement
where you once lived.

You know how it is?
There for the grace of god, go I.

Be kind.
Even on your bad days.
Especially on your bad days.
It’ll help.

I'm not asking you to
be Jesus,
just to be kind
and who knows
there might be something
in it for you.

Be kind.
Just in case.

1 Comment
NAKED AND ALIVE
Purely Poetry
Just my poetry. Raw, naked, served cold like poetry should be (so you can warm it up)
Authors
David Deubelbeiss