Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Don't Talk To Me About Love

A visual poem expressing my contempt for a world that doesn't have the time nor the guts nor the strength for love. We need to put our time and money where our mouths are.

Let’s Clean House

Don’t talk to me about love.
The shirts need to be picked up from the cleaner’s .
The cat’s gotta be fed.
There’s the hairdresser’s and the new 5 slice toaster
and remember
tonight there is today’s Movie of the Week.

Love? Let’s have children.
Love? Let’s join a fitness club.
Love? Let’s look at our new sofa.
Love? Let’s make it twice a week at 5:15.
Love? I’m reading a book about it.

Don’t talk to me about love.

when military spending is so low
when I gotta plan this winter’s getaway
when it’s raining outside,
when the neighbors just bought a new car
when the alarm clock’s just waiting to blow
it’s time to go.

Don’t talk to me about love.

Let’s clean house. The Little’s are coming over!

0 Comments
NAKED AND ALIVE
Purely Poetry
Just my poetry. Raw, naked, served cold like poetry should be (so you can warm it up)
Authors
David Deubelbeiss