Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Food For Thought

This Holocaust Remembrance Day, I share a few thoughts ...

It was Holocaust Remembrance Day and I thought a lot about what it means to me, I’m always forcing myself to confront this “happening” and keep remembering. There are many lessons there for us all, unfortunately so few answers applied in this world of evil and violence we shop, sleep and step upon.

I won’t go into this - see some of the many things I’ve written previously. However, I thought I’d take this opportunity to share this visual poem I created and too, some things for reading, watching regarding the Shoah.

Of course, first among equals is Gilbert’s - History of the Holocaust. I’ve carried the book with me from country to country, a kind of bible for me. Starkly outlines the facts, the voices of the voiceless.

Lanzmann’s documentary, Shoah, a testimonial. It goes without saying, required viewing. There are a number of other films, some Hollywoodish that do a good job of bringing to light what happened. Take your pick. For me, Life Is Beautiful and Sophie’s Choice ring loud and clear.

I pay homage to my own mentor Irving Layton (Israel Lazarovitch) and his own poems about the Holocaust. Leonard Cohen too.

“In this / Most Christian of worlds all poets / Are Jews”

- Poem Of The End. Marina Tsvetayeva

Primo Levi, especially his The Drowned And The Saved. The grey zone, challenges us to rethink our own quick assessments of the Holocaust, as too of course, Hannah Arendt’s Banality Of Evil. Tadeusz Borowski, This Way For The Gas Ladies And Gentlemen - hits heavy and hard with his in your face true stories of the Lager.

I will stop here … Let’s remember and try as we can to love each other and reject the hate, this world hands to us as candy and shiny bobbles. Reject the dehumanization of anyone, whoever. We are all dignified, living beings of immeasurable value.

I remember once getting wine, underground mall of Yorkville, Toronto. I was looking at a bottle of Egri Bikaver, Hungarian wine (visit the winery if you get a chance!). An old, tiny lady came over to me and asked if I liked it. We got chatting. She was alone, a Holocaust survivor from Hungary. We spent 30 minutes in the aisle speaking. I asked her what she remembers most from her time in the camp. She said, “the kindness”. The times when treated with warmth and kindness, as a member of the human family.

Find my short volume of Holocaust poems on Amazon. To end, one last poem.

I asked her
in bed
covered in honesty
just fed
by nature’s always
replenishing,

I asked her
love lent,
what the number
6,000,000 meant?

……………………………

Looking up
like a little girl might
counting stars or sheep
she said,
“A large city
maybe a bank account?”

Then, closing her eyes
leaning over,
she said again,
“Come here! Give me
6,000,000 kisses!”

……………………………

Yes, we are learning
how to count again.

0 Comments
NAKED AND ALIVE
NAKED AND ALIVE
Authors
David Deubelbeiss