Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Keeping Sane

A bike ride can do wonders for your mind, for your soul.

I went out for a “short” bike ride but ended up going all day - riding right down to the end of land in South Korea - to Jindo Island. Bike rides happen when you are making other plans. After the video above, I just kept going.

There is something about repetition that helps ground a person, connects a person to the basics of being. It’s a type of rightful action, the karma yoga of the Vedas - a spiritual path open to anyone. You don’t have to cycle, you can run or hum or tap or knit or plant seeds one after another. It’s the work and the repetition that is key to awakening the music of the universe for your embrace.

I like to cycle long and get into a kind of trance - I think many others should. Especially, like myself, if you are going through problems with mental health. It’s better than any handful of pills.

The ride was long and very sticky - almost 100% humidity. Heavy air to cut through. Enjoyed the farm roads, just miles and miles of water and agriculture in this part of the world. Surprisingly few tourists - everyone hunkered down in their boxes in the sky with the air-con on.

I saw the big statue of the Korean hero - Admiral Yi. His story is known by all Koreans - he saved them from Japanese invasion with his innovation - the “turtle ship”.

I saw many of the famous Jindo dogs. Unfortunately, they are all tied up on short leashes outside each farm house. Surprisingly, many goats on farms.

I got home and had a lot of time to think while on the bike - the moving treadmill. I’m thinking of heading out into the world on my bike. Just need a push, a reason. I might do a world tour in the name of mental health. Let’s see. I have resigned myself that I can’t return to the normal workaday world. Just not in me. But I need a purpose, a place. That place might just be on a bike, being everywhere … More on this in future episodes of Naked And Alive.

0 Comments
NAKED AND ALIVE
Travel
About the wonderous world we live in and the people we travel among.
Authors
David Deubelbeiss