Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Life Is Short

A simple fact but one so few take to heart, embody and stir their life through and with. ...

"The lyf so short, the craft so long to lerne." - Chaucer

Sometimes, the most simple things, the things there right in front of our face - are so hard to see, to know.

Gravity, it has always been there, since the dawn of time. Yet, who before Newton really noticed it, named it, understood it?

It’s the same with death. We all mostly ignore it. War? Why does it happen? Mostly because every soldier thinks - I won’t die, not me! Someone else will. But hey, I’m special, I’ll survive and live to tell stories to my grandkids.

We all think like that - death won’t come for me. Forget about it. We all believe that we have so much time to do so much. Until it is too late.

Myself, I can only live with the finality, the specter of death, always there in front of me, rubbing its fingers, sharpening its machete - I can only live with it by an existential trick of the mind. I think of all those I admire, cut down well before me. Mozart, a mere 37 and gone! Robert Johnson only got 27. Hell, I’ve almost passed a hero, Gord Downie, and even Anthony Bourdain. So with this twist of my mind, each new day is bonus, icing on the cake, gratis, an unexpected gift, the “present”.

Life is short. Tell people you love them. Make friends not war. Be at peace with yourself. Find calm and a place where you can live authentically, smile each day and repose - mindful that you’ve got another day here, another time wrapped gift. The present.

Carpe Diem. Here, Naked & Alive.

0 Comments
NAKED AND ALIVE
NAKED AND ALIVE
Authors
David Deubelbeiss