Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Manliness (not)

Like the video, I question the John Wayne version of What Is A Man? Found this old poem of mine that speaks to this ... Inspired by other events.

I’m not a man.
It’s been a long time since
I brought home the bacon.
I don’t have a firm handshake and
at best my manhood is shy of 5 inches.
My back is always aching.

I’m not a man.
I don’t smoke Marlboros or mow the lawn.
I don’t spend days fixin’ broken things.
I don’t watch basketball, hockey, football
you name it, on the idiot box.
I don’t hunt or bowl or fish or brawl.
I’m not much sure of anything at all.

I’m not a man.
I don’t have a pickup or a muscle car
in fact I don’t have a vehicle at all.
I ride my bike around town and
stop to smell the roses, often
spending time, I travel far.

I’m not a man.
I can’t do a push up and
I’ve forgotten how to whistle
at women who walk by
in their womanly way.
I listen to people and
let them have their say.

I’m not a man.
I do the dishes after I cook dinner
and I’m known to sweep and mop
as good as anyone on my block.
I don’t have a toolkit or a workshop but
I do have a large, cozy library.

I’m not a man.
I’ve never rescued a damsel in distress
and to top it off,
I often cry at movies even if
they aren’t particularly sad.
They just hit me hard.

I’m not a man.
I don’t have a six pack
nor drink a six pack after work.
I don’t curse and spit and I’m told
I smell very nice and look dapper
in my multicolored outfits,
that only I know how to fold.

I’m not a man.
I don’t dream of going to war
or fighting in the parking lot.
I sing and hit high notes
in the shower for,
what’s a heaven for?
I open, always open, my own doors.

I’m not a man.
I haven’t a beard, or moustache
hardly any hair on my chest and
I don’t puff out that chest at the
slightest slight or the end of
any drunken nights.

I’m not a man.
I have bent shoulders and
I can’t buy my family much at all.
I chew my fingernails and spend Sundays
by myself, window shopping at the mall.

I’m not a man.
I share my feelings at family gatherings
and write poetry in fanciful ways.
And we all know that real men
don’t write poetry or dance
unless their going to get some …

And I haven’t gotten any
in a long time.

I guess I’m the pussy.
But I’m definitely not a man.

0 Comments
NAKED AND ALIVE
Purely Poetry
Just my poetry. Raw, naked, served cold like poetry should be (so you can warm it up)
Authors
David Deubelbeiss