Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
4

Peekaboo

Life is a magic trick and try as we might, we just aren't any where near figuring it out.
4

I wrote this, the day after my dog died a few years ago. It was a shock, one day so healthy, next just gone. A disappearing act.

I’ve written a few other things about it, unshared but this one is my own “Funeral Blues”. A topic few of us look at head on, this magic trick we all make cameo appearances in.

Peekaboo

Now you see it.
Now you don’t see _.

I’ve never understood that.
That magic trick.

Me,
a big-eyed, long-haired kid
wondering how
the rabbit got
inside the hat.

Me,
running to the window
Sunday winter morning
looking out bewildered
wondering where
my snowman went.

The scientists contrive.
The philosophers surmise.
The magicians surprise.
Me?
I’m at a loss.

Here and now
4 am
sitting on the couch
wondering where
yesterday went
and reaching down
to pet my dog
but he’s gone.

Dog gone.
I just don’t get it.

Now he’s here.
Now __’_ gone.

4 Comments
NAKED AND ALIVE
Purely Poetry
Just my poetry. Raw, naked, served cold like poetry should be (so you can warm it up)
Authors
David Deubelbeiss