Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Simile Sincerity

There is light in every thing. You just have to be brave enough to let it in.

I’ve spent the last week, Christmas too and now the New Year, among a large group of joyous youngsters - doing what I was born to do - teach and inspire.

It’s great to return to my teaching roots, the raucous classroom of middle school. It’s recharging my soul however exhausting and despite missing my family. Back to basics - you can’t talk about teaching when far removed from the teaching trenches.

The new year must be very important, we have to wait a whole year for it to happen.

I hope in 2024, you keep returning to your true essence, be immersed in a world of being that inspires you, makes you grow and contributes in a positive fashion to our world, our world that needs very much love and nurturing as opposed to bombs and braggadacio.

Happy New Year to all my readers and friends, near and far.

I’ll leave you with an instant poem, I’ve chanted this type of poem during my 6am runs along the magnificiently cold, frozen, almost people-less beaches here on the north-east coast of S.Korea, Gangwon-do. Just a stone’s throw from N.Korea and its hardships.

A Similation

Like a duck out of water
Like a whale on the beach
Like a cow just before the slaughter
Like a peach just out of reach …

I will be there for you.

Like a spoon in an empty cup
Like an island never seen
Like a woman puckering up
Like the sky on which we lean …

I will hold your hand.

Like a lover alone on a bed
Like a a fish, free in a bowl
Like a word never said
Like wind that has no goal …

I will listen to you.

Like a rock once sand
Like a dog without a bone
Like a kite without a plan
Like a life on loan …

I will sing for you.

Like the sweetest song you’ll ever hear
Like the nail’s desire for the hammer
Like the first day of a snowy new year
Like a bird in flight, unwired, a banner …

I will acknowledge you.

0 Comments
NAKED AND ALIVE
NAKED AND ALIVE
Poetry, essays, thoughts about life, our human condition, education and language. A poet and thinker eeking out a living here and now, naked and alive.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
David Deubelbeiss