Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
1

The Line

When you gonna wake up - strengthen the things that remain?
1

The worst is not death but being blind, blind to the fact that everything about life is in the nature of the miraculous. The language of society is conformity; the language of the creative individual is freedom. Life will continue to be a hell as long as people who make up the world shut their eyes to reality. ~Henry Miller

I wanted to write something for this video and had several things written. But then I went out on my bike, did a double century and had plenty of time to think further (more on that ride in subsequent posts). As I rode, loops and lines of Dylan’s - I’m A Man Of Constant Sorrows kept ripping through my mind. I would change the words to the tune and make my own lines.

I got home, put the video on and just sang, this is what came out. My own protest song, about how so much of our lives is lived in a kind of “follower the leader” style game. An air-conditioned nightmare (I allude to Miller), where so long as we obey, do as we are told (and we are told, it is part of what culture does so well and so silently), the air-conditioning remains on.

There is no conspiracy. It is just small “c” culture doing its thing. Culture is a great thing but it also comes with a whole lot of negative conformity, vile tradition, built in sleeping pill, automatic pilot stuff. We all need to continually wake up and keep the good parts and reject the fences it builds and keeps us within.

For me, the pandemic was a turning of the screw too far. I really woke up, decided to live my life in truth, fiercely and bravely. I’ve paid for it but the returns are priceless. I know who my real friends are. I get up in the morning and do whatever I want. I speak truth to power and find joy and elation in the smallest of life’s things and events. I won’t obey THEIR laws anymore, rather obey the laws of my heart. The patriotic country killing machines should dry up and die. I’m a citizen of the world, nothing and no one is foreign to me.

It’s a big club and I’m glad I’m not in it.

The Line

They tell you to stay in line.
Just trust us, everything’ll be fine.

They tell you, just do your best.
Go to school, pass the test.

They tell you to do what you’re told.
We’ll look after you, when you get old.

They tell you, do it for your country.
Be good killers, believe our punditry.

They say follow our unwritten rules.
You don’t want to be one of those fools.

They say work hard, keep your head low.
We are the ones, that truly know.

They tell you to tow the line.
If you do, everything’ll be fine.

They say who’s not in line.
Ask you to point your finger, declare their crime.

They say heaven is for those who walk straight ahead.
All the crooked others, to hell are led.

They tell you, they tell you and they tell and tell you …

They tell you, to wave the flag.
Pet your dog, see his tail wag.

They tell you, trust the science.
That’s the best form, of self-reliance.

They tell you, freedom is in peril.
But together in line, we can defeat the feral.

They tell you, it’s time to sacrifice.
Now’s not the time, to play it nice.

They tell you, your on the right side of history.
Marching into progress’ clear majority.

They say wait your turn , stand in line.
Fill out the forms, obey the signs.

They tell you, they tell you, they tell you …

They tell you all this, my friend
and then they come for you
and it’s the end.

1 Comment
NAKED AND ALIVE
NAKED AND ALIVE
Authors
David Deubelbeiss