Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
1

Whatever Gets You THERE

Lose yourself in the sheer pleasure of being HERE. That's what will get you THERE.
1

View on and support my YouTube channel. Thx!

I am on a path of losing myself, so I may be found. It seems contradictory, this advice found in all religious texts but it is true. You must be “remixed” and only then can you emerge from the primordial ooze.

Part of this process towards satori, towards “being there” is presence. We need to just sink into what is there, what we are doing, where we are at. Part of this is just being grateful for the energy you are and letting that energy be true in this world.

Energy is the only life, and is from the body; and reason is the bound or outward circumference of energy. Energy is eternal delight. - William Blake

One of the central themes of my poetry over the last 45 years (and I’m just sorting this out for myself), is the idea of - whatever gets you there, whatever it takes. It’s a kind of Hessian, be true to thy Steppenwolf self construct of existence, non-judgemental existence. And like the poem above infers, part of this is the epicurean idea of pleasure, finding pleasure in the small things, your absorption in that.

It’s a religious calling, religious with a small “r”. Forgetting yourself, so you may find yourself. No clinging. Letting go. Forgetting. Aswim, awash, in the miraculous existence of simply being here.

"To the Taoist ☯️ mentality, the aimless, empty life does not suggest anything depressing. On the contrary, it suggests the freedom of clouds and mountain streams, wandering nowhere, of flowers in impenetrable canyons, beautiful for no one to see, and of the ocean surf forever washing the sand, to no end."- Alan Watts

Greetings from Vietnam. Now going out into the world, leaving the coffee shop where I’ve put together this video poem. I have 10 hours before my flight. I will check out of the hotel and check out into life - awash and wandering this very vital, gritty, charming city - Hai Phong, Vietnam. I’ve had a good time, following the Anthony Bourdain trail.

Travel is not about finding something. It is about losing something. It is a shedding. The snake that doesn’t shed its skin, dies.

1 Comment
NAKED AND ALIVE
Travel
About the wonderous world we live in and the people we travel among.
Authors
David Deubelbeiss