Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Wild Island - A Project Gutenberg Remix

Project Gutenberg offers creative types and remixers - a wild island full of surprises.
Transcript

No transcript...

I have been busy bringing back to life - many old books now in the public domain and part of Project Gutenberg. Find many on my ELT Buzz YouTube Channel. Little Red Riding Hood. 3 Pigs. The Baseball Alphabet. The Little Red Hen. Polishing off the dust, digitizing, adding music, voice and more …

I believe that in this world so focused on “the new”, there is much value still left in what is so easily thrown away. Vinyl records. Bicycles. Shoe Horns. Why do we gaze upon mountains so? One reason is that they are old.

My mother still makes the world’s most delicious pork chops in her 70 year old Sunbeam electric frying pan. As she’d say - if it ain’t broke, don’t buy a new one.

Gutenberg, the old stories many grew up on, are still “art” and have worth. So many with such beautiful illustrations. And the catalog of copyright free materials is huge and with many treasures. It’s also part of our cultural heritage, our linguistic genome and we lose this at our peril - AI is endangering this.

But beyond just bringing these stories back to life and back into not just the public domain but more importantly the public imagination - these books are a goldmine for remixers like myself. If you are a new reader, you can find many of my remixes here - search “remix” and also, check out the original Remix Manifesto.

The video above is one example. My own interpretation of the original storybook - My Father’s Dragon by Ruth Styles Gannet.

I took the original story outline and the illustrations and then put them into my own blender to come up with the book. I hope you enjoy the story. Simple and true enough to the original.

Long live remixing. Found Art.

MY DRAGON FRIEND
A Wild Island Adventure

A Project Gutenberg Remix.

One day while walking outside in the rain, I met an alley cat. And believe it or not, this cat did talk! We had quite the chat, me and this cat. So I invited her home.

However, my mother didn’t like that nor did she like the cat! She gave me a good scolding and told me to get rid of the cat and “that was that.”

So, I went out for a walk with the cat. I intended to leave her some place nice - warm and dry.

Then, the cat asked, “Have you ever been to Wild Island and if not why?”

“It’s a magical place. Why don’t you go? At least until your mother is in a better mood. You’ll see all kinds of incredible animals there and make new friends!”

I thought to myself, “What a great idea” and asked “How do I get there?”

“There is a ferry but it seldom runs. The only way on or off that I know is by flying with the friendly dragon. On his back is the way to go!”

And so I went to visit the animals on Wild Island. Why not? You only live once!

The cat couldn’t come she was scared of heights. So I said “Good-bye and I’ll see you in a fortnight.”

Wild Island was such an incredible place! Let me tell you all about it, face to face.
First, I met two pirates who were smuggling cranberries from the island.
They asked me to stay and help but I didn’t like their looks and so I kept walking on up the river valley.

I was soon very sleepy and so I took a nap under a beautiful apple tree.
When I awoke there was a huge rat staring at me! He said, “Come, come! Follow me!” And so I did.

The island was full of strange plants and animals. Exotic species. Plants with mouths! Birds that couldn’t fly! So many odd things.

I met these two boars. They welcomed me to their island’s shores.

These tortoises told me they were 300 years old! And on Wild Island had never once ever been cold.

This baby tiger asked me where I was going? I said, “Wherever Wild Island’s wind is blowing.” So he took me to see her family. And they all agreed to accompany me.

I continued walking and the jungle grew thick. I was soon completely lost. But I wasn’t afraid. I really didn’t give a toss! It was an adventure. I was the boss! I was enjoying all my animal friends. Lost on Wild Island, a place where never fun never ends

I did have one unfortunate encounter. I met a rowdy rhino who tossed me over her shoulder. But I was ok and she then apologized. She had thought I was one of those pesky Wild Island giant flies!

I came upon a lion who pretended to be brave. I told that lion “Be friendly”and he immediately began to behave. We became great friends, this lion and me. He showed me how to comb a mane and how to kingly be.

It was getting dark andI needed to get home. I was sure my mother was now in a better mood, and I didn’t want her to worry or moan. I asked a cougar about the Dragon Ferry. And he told me to go ask Jerry.

Jerry was a giant gorilla. All day long he ate large strips of vanilla. Jerry told me which way to go and offered some monkeys to help me get there. There were six monkeys and boy! were they loud. But they gladly agreed to help me and their friend Jerry and get me home by way of the Dragon Ferry.

On the way I saw some really interesting bugs. I put one in my pocket for when I got home as proof of this island I had roamed. The monkeys loved using my magnifying glass! Not one of them gave it a pass!

We soon came upon the big river that we had to cross. How to do so, I was at a loss?

Then one alligator came up and said ... Climb on our backs! We’ll get you across! Come one! Come all! On this river, we alligators are the boss! So we all got rides on the alligators’ backs.

On the other side I found the dragon waiting there. I untied him and soon enough I was high in the air.

Good bye Wild Island! Good-bye my animal friends! ‘Til we meet again!

THE END

0 Comments
NAKED AND ALIVE
Education
All about teaching, teaching English, ed-tech and learning language.
Authors
David Deubelbeiss