Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

It's Not Dark Yet

A poem, Dylan infused. My remix. No disrespect intended.

This week, sharing some “covers”. Poetry inspired by some songs. Yesterday, if you missed it, my version of Lou Reed’s, Perfect Day.

Today, a song I just sung and went with quickly. I will share some other versions, spent about an hour just singing and singing, to the piano. I liked this version the best. But who knows, tomorrow, maybe some of the other riffs. My voice, my words, Zimmerman’s inspiration in my veins.

Read, take in the song as you wish. For me, it is about the dying of a day, of a life … but hope clinging to life’s tender branches.

See this most beautiful version of Dylan’s original. Soothing … Enjoy.

Lyrics.

She said, “You look like a million bucks.”
I said, “I’m a dollar bill.”
She said, “Look at your shiny boots.”
I said simply, “I’ve had my fill.”
She left looking like the queen of the fair.
It’s not dark yet. But it’s getting there.

I put on my hat and headed out the door.
I couldn’t even remember, what I’d come here for.
The cars on the street sang music in the rain.
I stepped in tune, embracing a brighter pain.
Sometimes you gotta love by not giving a care.
It’s not dark yet. But it’s getting there.

I got home wet and it was rather late.
I sat in my favorite chair, not knowing on what I wait.
I poured myself a drink, and I thought of why I’m here.
Then I fell asleep, some things we want, just won’t ever appear.
Sometimes just being here, beats not being anywhere.
It not dark yet. But it’s getting there.

0 Comments
NAKED AND ALIVE
Purely Poetry
Just my poetry. Raw, naked, served cold like poetry should be (so you can warm it up)
Authors
David Deubelbeiss