Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Mothers

My Mom and Me. A few words about mothers and my own, as special as they come.

I’m currently at our family home, where I grew up, visiting my mother. She’s 84 and getting very frail. Mentally, she is all still there. I’m spending some quality time with a person who is my compass and shining light. Always.

"If I had to choose between God and my mother, I'd choose my mother." - Albert Camus

My proud mother and he beloved trophies from the garden she adored.

I’ve interviewed my mother often over the years and hope to get time to edit and present the long videos in the important way, they deserve. For her grandchildren and greatgrandchildren, so they may know her as I know her. Kind of like Layton’s so fine poem, For Musia’s Grandchildren. Also, read Layton’s own poem to his mother - Keine Lazarovitch.

I write  this  poem 
for  your  grandchildren 
for  they  will  know  of  your  loveliness 
only  from  hearsay, 
from  yellowing  photographs 
spread  out  on  table  and  sofa 
for  a laugh. 

When  arrogant 
with  the  lovely  grace  you  gave  their  flesh 
they  regard  your  dear  frail  body  pityingly, 
your  time-dishonoured  cheeks 
pallid  and  sunken 
and  those  hands 
that  I have  kissed  a thousand  times 
mottled  by  age 
and  stroking  a grey  ringlet  into  place, 

I want  them  suddenly 
to  see  you  as  I saw  you 
— beautiful  as  the  first  bird  at  dawn. 

Dearest  love,  tell  them 
that  I,  a crazed  poet  all  his  days 
who  made  woman 
his  ceaseless  study  and  delight, 
begged  but  one  boon 
in  this  world  of  mournful  beasts 
that  are  almost  human: 
to  live  praising  your  marvellous  eyes 
mischief  could  make  glisten 
like  winter  pools  at  night 
or  appetite  put  a fine  finish  on. 

It’s strange seeing my mother so frail, so vulnerable. But it is life and she’s doing ok, all considered.

I have so many memories I could share but mostly, it is about her strength of survival. She had such hard times but always kept going ahead and always protecting, and loving us kids, unconditionally. No matter where I’ve traveled in this world, so often alone, not a soul there - I always knew my mother was. And I guess in a nutshell, that is what a mother is. Often when I’m asked “Where you from?” - I’ll retort, “My mother.” and we’ll laugh sharing the inside joke and the glue that connects us all. Me too!

A great exercise for families is to interview each other, interview your grandparents and start a discussion, build an archive. Today I sat down and spent the morning, fire roaring (it’s cold up here, and there is snow!), sat down and interviewed her. It was beautiful, going through life together, flipping the pages of the book we’ve written together. Find the interview below. Here is a template you can use, based on the famous Proust Interview of Vanity Fair.

The Proust Questionnaire Template
40.4KB ∙ PDF file
Download
Download

Hug your mother. If she has passed, hug her still. You can. Mothers are always there, enduring, eternal. Mothers are there, in us.

Mothers

Mothers
remind ourselves
of our true nature -
attached, eternal
a burning, falling star
etching itself upon
the viral template
of our life.

Mothers
a home, a refuge
an embrace,
a place where in forgetting
we fill with
a remembering
until
we sprout life
and the muck
turns green
like it has always been.

Mothers
a womb, a sanctity
where spirits mix
and children yet born
always dance.
Mothers
what lasts
and sings electric
shining what we are
after all
that/before any fall.

Mothers
the last, the first
where no person is cursed
acceptance,
a river that runs us
to the sea
where in being everything
we are again, free.


0 Comments
NAKED AND ALIVE
NAKED AND ALIVE
Authors
David Deubelbeiss