Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Unfortunate Man Blues

What's a guy to do with all his sunshine within, living in a world that's basking in sin? I've got the one shoe, unfortunate Man Blues.
Transcript

No transcript...

The Unfortunate Man Blues

I keep walking
but sand
keeps getting in my shoes.
I start running
but it’s a race
I always lose.

I’m one whose got
a case of
the unfortunate man blues.

I keep singing
but I soon
go hoarse.
I ride off
into the distance
but of course,
soon I’m off course.

I bask in the
warm blessed sunshine
but then she’s gone.
I read and think
but can never figure out
where I went wrong.

I’m one whose got
a case of
the unfortunate man blues.

I throw my money down
bet all night long,
but then the morning comes
and my money is
long, long gone.

I keep loving
her, him and you.
I keep cooking up
this same agape stew
and I guess it’ll do
until the next
round of
the unfortunate man blues.

0 Comments
NAKED AND ALIVE
NAKED AND ALIVE
Poetry, essays, thoughts about life, our human condition, education and language. A poet and thinker eeking out a living here and now, naked and alive.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
David Deubelbeiss
Recent Episodes
 • David Deubelbeiss
 • David Deubelbeiss
 • David Deubelbeiss
 • David Deubelbeiss
 • David Deubelbeiss