Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
3

Be A Hummingbird

Throwing your hands up in the air can work for a moment but alas, it gets you nowhere. Be a hummingbird. Do what you can.
3

One of the things I hate most about us human beings is how prone we are to fall into “self-pity”. I’ve written about this before, it is a pet peeve of mine, how we so easily feel sorry for ourselves when confronted with a seemingly intractable problem.

I say this because I, Me, Myself, am too so prone to this emotion of resignation. But I keep at it - knocking myself out of this self-pity stupor.

Recently, the whole “in one’s face” of innocent people being killed in their 1,000s in Gaza makes one just want to tune out, close up, say, “What can I do?” and then just hunker down and wait it out. But you CAN do things, however small, even if it is just keeping oneself humanly, vibrantly alive in soul, spirit. Myself, I’ve been calling MPs. I post. I talk to people and create awareness. I Will Be A Hummingbird. I will not be a victim.

Look at the animal kingdom - you won’t see one small ant stepped underfoot, one tiny sparrow freezing to death on a barren branch in an ice storm - throwing their hands up in the air saying “Why me!”. No. They just get on with it, with life, with finding a solution. They don’t wallow in blame, they don’t begin to despise the world. They do not say “Poor me!” No. They simply get on with it, with life.

“Get on with it now! I could have killed all 3 of you in the time your taking!”
- Charles Panzram, infamous serial killer to his hangmen, from the scaffold

We all should too - do what we can, get on with it. Self-pity has no value, offers up no positive outcome other than our eventual destruction. Do not be a victim!

I made the above video about the African folktale of a hummingbird, because it illustrates the proper attitude we should all have towards the world we live in and the eventual travails that will come our way.

Get On With It

If you don't like what you got
give it away, crush it, blow it up.

Get on with it ....

If your check isn't in the mail
If your boat didn't come in
don't wait
screw 'em, screw 'em and the universe
laugh, laugh loudly
go have a beer
roll in the wet grass
don't stop or slow down

Get on with it .....

If you can't stand the President
don't whine like a ninny
go over to the window
and scream it for all to hear
let everyone know

Don't hesitate.
Get on with it ....

If the car's not starting
the neighbors are too loud
you can't stand your wife
your life ....

walk away
even if just for a while

screw it
the world won't stop its nonsense
so why should you?

Get on with it ....

If you're constipated
If your teeth have all fallen out
If you can't get it up
If your stocks are down
Pour a stiff drink
run the ice over your tongue
you're here
it's all good

Get on with it .....

3 Comments
NAKED AND ALIVE
NAKED AND ALIVE
Poetry, essays, thoughts about life, our human condition, education and language. A poet and thinker eeking out a living here and now, naked and alive.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
David Deubelbeiss