Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Good Everything Vietnam!

I just returned from a week in Vietnam. I took the "Anthony Bourdain" trail. I share with you some photos and a few thoughts.

I’ve written a number of pieces about Anthony Bourdain and his wanderings. Marseille is his favorite city on earth, I know it well. Vietnam, his favorite country and culture, I now know it a little better.

I followed his footsteps and experienced the little plastic chairs and tables and “something” in a bowl. My soul is much better for it.

I went to the gritty port city of Hai Phong. Far off the foreign traveler’s radar. That’s how I like to travel. We all have our preferences. I explored the downtown, the bustling streets, alive with food and wares. Wandered the beautiful parks, the tree lined streets and old colonial architecture, the lazy rivers meandering throughout the city. I got me some of that clam stuff in a bowl that Anthony had.

We travel to see things anew. Culture and staying in one place can put one to sleep, set one into autopilot and let life drift by unnoticed. Going somewhere, being lost in “the other” is an anecdote. Of course, you don’t have to travel to “awaken” - it’s just an easy way to do it. Books, thought, exploring right where you are, getting out of your comfort zone can all do the trick. Cheaper too.

I wrote this poem on the hovercraft between Cat Bi island and Hai Phong. Half day trip out to the tourist beach town and then Ha Long Bay. I didn’t bring a notebook and had nothing to write on. But when departing, noticed they were collecting tickets - so quickly snapped a photo).

I stayed right smack in the center. Lost in translation. Lost amid the endless stream of scooters, bicycles and bustle here and there. This video will give you an idea of the neighborhood I stayed in. See many of my photos in this album if interested.

A few observations about Vietnam (and like my post about South Korea, I reserve the right to be wrong. Tentative. My thoughts and apologizes in advance).

  1. Little smoking. Little obesity, if at all.

  2. Polite, so polite. Safe. Clean. Everyone always out front sweeping their part of the sidewalk (if you can call it that).

  3. Cheap. A bargain for any traveler on all levels.

  4. You can’t move without a place to sit down on a plastic stool and eat someone’s own cooking. Sidewalks lined with make-shift restaurants.

  5. Coffee shops seem to be the in thing in Vietnamese cities. I guess, like the rest of the world. You’ll find them everywhere. Ranging from Highlands - a better than Starbucks chain to Mom and Pop cafes. Higher end cafes, very few men. Don’t know why, they are just full of women mostly.

  6. Kids everywhere. Youthful population. Laughing, having fun. The Vietnamese aren’t over protective and I enjoyed watching kids doing what kids do - enjoying simple play outside. People spend a lot of time outside - apartments are hot, stuff, cramped, small.

  7. Motorcycles, scooters, scooters, scooters. It’s crazily heavy with scooters. Many places even have valet scooter parking - to help park the scooters on the sidewalk outside.

Hai Phong has a railroad. It goes inland to Hanoi. The station is so cute. If I ever get back, will take it. It’s an old style train to onewhere.

I wandered the streets endlessly. All day. It was wonderful, a great way to discover a city. Many rivers slowly making their way to the sea, like me.

I walked across a beautiful bridge and saw this plaque. LOL. I feel honored to have made it across safely and able to say I traversed the world’s fastest built bridge!

One of the coffee shops I frequented, right outside my hotel.

A playground I came across during a walk. Wouldn’t pass many safety tests back home! But I’d be game, if a kid.

I will leave you with some words from Anthony Bourdain. Move …

0 Comments
NAKED AND ALIVE
Travel
About the wonderous world we live in and the people we travel among.
Authors
David Deubelbeiss