Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
8

Tend Your Own Garden

Happiest of holidays to everyone. Peace be within us. Letting go of things is the biggest part of that peace process...
8

I haven’t been writing here (always writing - notebooks fill), just not feeling in a public mood. You know how I feel, I’m sure. In a way, Christmas is cancelled.

Tired of so many pontificators - making so much that is simple, so complex. Tired of the lies, bald-faced they are. Exhausted from listening to all the graduates of Peace Studies program, just talk about war. So, I’m dropping out.

I’m enjoying my beautiful family and the small things I’ve got. The taste of coffee on my tongue in the morning, the drip, drip of melting, lifefull snow on my window sill. I’m enjoying the miracle of being here and refraining, refusing to get dragged into a cesspool of hate - that is hate nonetheless, even if it is correct hate.

The present IS the present. Enjoy it, with everyone this holiday season. Live simply, simply live. “Cultivez votre jardin” was Voltaire’s response to the Candide, the suffering of the world, mine too. If many more kept their nose in their own being and community, we’d be much better off. I’ve abandoned revolutionary dreams and asking others to be things, they can’t be, abandoned demanding others be what I want. I’ve lost “their” narrative and begun to live my own story.

The video above - I wrote and produced, it has some wisdom therein. Let go. I’ve seen so many consummed by X or by Y. You fill in those blanks. Let go. Your soul will be better for it. It’s the only way forward, forward into a life of grace. Oh yeah, lachez tout and also be kind.

Bless you all for reading, thinking, being who you are.

David

Let Go

Right here.
Right now.
Always as the sky.
Never, like
the number zero.
Complete as Pi.

On my lips no why.
Just a shadow
of a shadow
peeling back the
lie after lie
of who I was
at the door
that starts at
my floor,
right here,
right now.

Look!
The past back there!
The future up ahead!
But the now is forever.

8 Comments
NAKED AND ALIVE
NAKED AND ALIVE
Poetry, essays, thoughts about life, our human condition, education and language. A poet and thinker eeking out a living here and now, naked and alive.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
David Deubelbeiss