Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

This World Is Worth Fighting For

I'm feel like an old 71 Monte Carlo. The world has passed me by ... it's now run by AI and a permanent targeting of those who want an open road, freedom, to fly.

I Told You So

You told me, casually …
There is nothing worth dying for.
Then you continued filing your nails
and twirling your hair through
your long, precious fingers.

Of course,
You can look away.
I understand, I really do.
Go sing your yuletide carols
of peace on earth.
I’m cool with that.

You can turn off your TV
and turn on
your personalized
self-selecting news feed
of only cheery messages and
bargains to shop for.
It’s ok.
I know where you are coming from.

You can go fly your kites
and dance across well-kept lawns
free and alive under splendid skies.
I won’t begrudge you that.
You’re only human.

Go ahead. Enjoy.
Make hay while
the sun is shining and
the days still beckon
and spread a welcome embrace.

Go right ahead but
don’t come running to me
with your crocodile tears
when they come for you
for …
I told you so.

This world is worth fighting for.

Dying?
I’m still making up my mind
on that.

0 Comments
NAKED AND ALIVE
NAKED AND ALIVE
Poetry, essays, thoughts about life, our human condition, education and language. A poet and thinker eeking out a living here and now, naked and alive.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
David Deubelbeiss