Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

What A Horrible World

We can all do a helluva lot better ...

The flip side of this post.

What A Horrible World

I see flags a flying
Suffering too
I see them kill
For me and you
And I think to myself
What a horrible world.

I see bombs ‘a falling
And phosphorous white
The blank beastly day
The dark unforgiving night
And I think to myself
What a horrible world.

The tears of the mothers
So ugly is the why …
Are not on the faces
Of my people going by
I see friends breaking bread
Saying, "What can I do?"
They're really saying
I’m glad, it’s you.

I hear babies dying
They’ll never grow
They'll never learn more
Than I've come to know …
And I think to myself
What a horrible world
Yes, I think to myself
What a horrible world
Ooh, no …

0 Comments
NAKED AND ALIVE
NAKED AND ALIVE
Poetry, essays, thoughts about life, our human condition, education and language. A poet and thinker eeking out a living here and now, naked and alive.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
David Deubelbeiss